Best of 1988- The Album List

In the 20th Century, the year 1988 was the year with the most Roman numeral digits, but more important, in science and technology, it was a year of the first Internet-based chat protocol between USA and Europe.
On the music level, the charts was still dominated by the Stock- Aitken-Waterman hits who received the Brit Award for their music production skills. On the different floors, House music was slowly emerging, while Alternative and indie rock were even more diversified into various other musical sub genres. 
As every year we would like to invite you again to submit your top 10 albums of 1988. To ease the process we have included a list of around hundred albums which is of course not definite. Some album also link to YouTube can be streamed.

01. Pixies- Surfer Rosa [4AD / Rough Trade]
Gigantic is a debut album by Pixes released in March 1988 through 4AD in the UK and Rough Trade records in the USA. Only one single was released, a rerecorded version of "Gigantic", and reached number 93 on the UK Singles Chart. The album is often included on critics' lists of the best rock albums and alternative rock artists including Billy Corgan and PJ Harvey have cited it as an inspiration; it was an influence on Nirvana's 1991 album Nevermind, and the band hired Albini to record their 1993 album In Utero. Surfer Rosa was rereleased in the US by Elektra Records in 1992, and in 2005 was certified gold by the Recording Industry Association of America.

02. The Go Betweens- 16 Lover Line [Mushroom / Capitol]
16 Lover Line is the sixth album by Australian indie rock group The Go-Betweens, released in 1988 by Beggars Banquet Records. Three singles were taken from the album including "Streets of Your Town" and "Was There Anything I Could Do". This album was the final release from the original band line up which will split a year later. The album was included in the book 1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die and it was reissued in 2004.

03. Sonic Youth- Daydream Nation [Enigma / Blast First]
Daydream Nation is the fifth studio album by American alternative rock band Sonic Youth, released on October 18, 1988. The album featured four hit singles, including "Teen Age Riot" and "Silver Rocket". Daydream Nation received widespread acclaim from critics and earned Sonic Youth a major label deal. The album was ranked high in critics' year-end lists of 1988's best records and has since been widely considered to be Sonic Youth's greatest work, as well as one of the greatest albums of all time.

04. Pet Shop Boys- Introspective [Parlophone]
Introspective is the third studio album by Pet Shop Boys, released in October 1988 by Parlophone. Of the six tracks on the album, four were released as singles including "Left to My Own Devices" and "Domino Dancing" specifically written for this album and two cover versions "Always on My Mind" and "It's Alright". The album sold 4.5 million copies bought worldwide and it was reissued three times, in 2001, 2009 and 2018.

05. Prefab Sprout- From Langley Park to Memphis [ Kitchenware / EPIC]
From Langley Park to Memphis is the third studio album by English pop band Prefab Sprout which was released by Kitchenware Records on 14 March 1988. Five singles were released to promote the album: including , "Cars and Girls" and "The King of Rock 'n' Roll". Recorded in Newcastle, London and Los Angeles, it has a more polished and commercial sound than their earlier releases, and features several guest stars including Stevie Wonder and Pete Townshend. 

06. Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds- Tender Prey [Mute]
Tender Prey is the fifth studio album by Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, released on 19 September 1988 on Mute Records. The album included two hit singles, "Deanna" and the "The Mercy Seat" which was released prior to the album release and is one of the band's signature songs. Upon its release, Tender Prey received positive reviews and charted in the United Kingdom and Greece. However, the album failed to chart in either the band's native Australia or the United States Billboard charts. The album was remastered and reissued in 2010.

07. R.E.M.- Green [Warner Bros]
Green is the sixth studio album by R.E.M., released on November 7, 1988 by Warner Bros. Records. To promote Green, the band embarked on an 11-month world tour and released four singles from the album: "Orange Crush", "Stand", "Pop Song 89", and "Get Up". Green is the first record that was released after the band left their original label I.R.S. Records. The album was remastered in 2013 for its 25th anniversary, adding the bonus live album Live in Greensboro 1989 by Rhino Records.

08. My Bloody Valentine- Isn't Anything [Creation / Relativity]
Isn't Anything is the debut studio album by English-Irish rock band My Bloody Valentine, released on 21 November 1988 by Creation Records. Upon its release, the album received rave critical reviews and reached number one on the UK Independent Albums Chart and they were among the bands who were pioneering work of the sub genre known as shoegazing. The album featured only one single release, "Feed Me With Your Kiss" and it was reissued on CD by Warner Bros. Records in 1993 and 2001 and by Creation in 1996.

09. The Fall- The Frenz Experiment [Beggars Banquet]
The Frenz Experiment is the tenth studio album the Fall which was released in February 1988 through Beggars Banquet. It reached number 19 in the UK album chart, making it the Fall's first Top 20 album. The band released two singles from the album out of which both are cover versions of old songs, "Victoria", originally by The Kinks, and "There's a Ghost in My House", a northern soul track first recorded by R. Dean Taylor in 1966. In October 2020, an expanded remastered edition was produced, containing singles, b-sides and other tracks recorded in the same era.

10. Marc Almond- The Stars We Are [Capitol / Parlophone]
The Stars We Are is the fourth studio album by Marc Almond which was released in September 1988, reaching number 41 on the UK Albums Chart. It is Almond's highest selling solo album in both countries and was certified silver by the BPI. The Stars We Are includes the singles "Tears Run Rings", "Bitter Sweet", "Something's Gotten Hold of My Heart" and "Only the Moment". The album has been remastered on CD in 2002.

11. Galaxie 500 - Today [Aurora]
12. Mylène Farmer- Ainsi soit je...[Polydor]
13. Siouxsie and the Banshees- Peepshow [Polydor]
14. Cocteau Twins- Blue Bell Knoll [4AD]
15. Talk Talk- Spirit of Eden [Parlophone]
16. Leonard Cohen- I'm Your Man [Columbia]
17. The House of Love - The House of Love [Creation]
18. Psyche- Mystery Motel [New Rose]
19. The Church- Starfish [Arista]
20. Morrissey- Viva Hate [HMV/ Sire]
21. Dinosaur Jr- Bug [SST]
22. The Pogues-  If I Should Fall From Grace With God [Stiff]
23. Black - Comedy [A&M Records]
24. Erasure- The Innocents [Mute]
25. Duran Duran- Big Thing [Capitol / EMI]